How putting yourself out there can help grow your business

 

I’ll admit it internet…I’ve been feeling out of balance lately. My pre holiday excitement and frenzy has turned into a post holiday feeling of blah and “so what now?” feeling. It happens every January. The smell of renewal is fresh in the air and I’m equipped with my freshly written New Year’s resolution and I’m ready to rejuvenate my business and take on the world! And then…I get busy. Keeping up with shoots, making sure clients are happy. Making sure my children are happy and there is food on the table and that I am able to get at least a broken 6 hours of sleep. All of that starts taking up my time and before you know it the holidays are here again and that super important little list you wrote is nowhere to be found. So here is what I did yesterday. Instead of sitting in the house trying to keep up with all of the little things, I bundled the kiddies up and we took to the town. I was determined to get some fresh air and discover a new area of this city we live in. Even though it took us an hour to get out of the house, I have to admit, it felt great. The air was crisp, the kids were happy and while I was sitting in the sandbox watching my little girl play, a very nice woman and her daughter came to the sandbox as well. We started chatting and of course got onto the topic of what we do for a living. I told her I was a photographer and we chatted a bit more about the topic. She then asked for my card and proclaimed that she was just mentioning to her daughter that they needed some family photos done. I happily handed my card over and told her it was great to meet her. We exchanged goodbyes and as she was walking away she turned to me and said, “It’s so important to do what you love and to teach your children to do the same.” It was the simplest statement but it almost blew me away. Sometimes you need to get out there to expose yourself to others and to let people know that you do what you do. And sometimes you need the kind and wise words of a stranger to help remind you that you are on the right path. Happy Monday all and keep forging along on your great path!

IMG_4648IMG_4652IMG_4665

Leave a Reply

