Reflecting

I have been reflecting a lot lately. I took the plunge almost exactly one year ago, deciding to quit my full-time job in corporate America and put my 150% into my business and into raising my baby who was then only 4 months old. It was one of the hardest and scariest decisions I had ever made. I always knew in the back of my mind that one day I would have to choose between a regular 9-5 job and my photography business. I simply did not have the tine and energy to give it the love it deserved. So I did what I am, by nature, so prone to never do,  because I’m a virgo and always thinking practically and going by the books, and I listened to my heart. This past year has been a time of learning and growing. I’ve worked harder than I ever thought i would. Basically working 2 jobs, being a mom and a small business owner. Taking care of a baby all day and editing photos during nap times and late through the night. Some times I am just purely exhausted but then I have a great wedding or a wonderful portrait shoot and it always reminds me that I am on the right track. I just started reading a book called, “A history of Photography From 1839-Present”. Which I actually think I read in my first semester of college but it was so long ago that I don’t remember 🙂 It is so amazing to read about the beginning of this wonderful medium, how much it has evolved and to wonder what it will be like when my daughter is in school. We’ve really come a long way and I find so much inspiration from the photographers’ who started it all. So I’m going to forge on and keep working really hard, be true to myself and remember that there is always more to learn, more ways to improve and just like in life, we should always reflect on the past and improve for the future.

One thought on “Reflecting

  1. Jaimie

    That was really beautiful rache! I know how hard it is to go against logic and follow what your heart tells you, but that’s what we need in order to make ourselves truly happy. Your story inspires me to do the same. Keep following your dream, rache =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

